The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Weblogs Forum
The P/J Divide

20 replies on 2 pages. Most recent reply: Jun 23, 2012 12:44 PM by Dawn Williams

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 20 replies on 2 pages [ 1 2 | » ]
Michael Feathers

Nickname: mfeathers

The P/J Divide (View in Weblogs)
Posted: Sep 6, 2005 12:21 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Summary
How do differences in temperament affect your team?
Advertisement

I like to think that I'm a just a programmer, but in truth I spent a lot of time teaching people in groups and one on one. The fact that I teach programming means I do a lot of it, both with people and in prep to keep skills sharp, but I do it in an odd way. Most people sit down to solve a specific problem when they program. I start that way, but I actually spend more time working on a different problem: figuring out how to transfer skill and help people get better at programming. It's a weird feeling, because as you do it you know that you're working in a different problem space than the person you are pairing with. You look for alternatives, ways of highlighting a point, and the all the possible take-aways that every move brings. It's fun work, but it's incredibly intense. On an average day, I pair with four or five different people, and, if I'm visiting a new team, I don't have a lot of shared experience with them to fall back upon. We sit together and learn to speak each other's mental language and that can be both rewarding and taxing.