The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Weblogs Forum
Django Wired

4 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Mar 26, 2008 3:24 PM by Stewart Midwinter

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 4 replies on 1 page
Bruce Eckel

Nickname: beckel

Django Wired (View in Weblogs)
Posted: Mar 25, 2008 8:24 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Summary
Wired Magazine, April 2008, page 44. Expired: ASP.NET, Tired: PHP, Wired: Django.
Advertisement

I think I've been using Python for close to 12 years now, and it's been my favorite language for much of that time (I've given 2 keynotes and one or two talks at the Python conferences. It's by far my favorite language to consult in). Long enough to get used to the fact that people typically don't get it ("Yes, I always indent my code like that anyway, but I could never use a language that REQUIRED it!").

In fact, being misunderstood by the world at large is almost de rigeur in the Python culture. So it's surprising when the world seems to occasionally get it.

Another example: this year's Pycon T-shirt was taken from the xkcd webcomic.

I'm not into Django myself; I'm more interested in the flexibility of the approach taken by TurboGears 2 (I just spent a significant amount of time cleaning up the TurboGears 2 Wiki Tutorial). However, I think the combination of choices offered by Django + TurboGears covers people's needs better than a single monolithic approach, and Django appears to be the right solution for a large portion of the applications out there.

Berco Beute

Nickname: berco

Re: Django Wired Posted: Mar 25, 2008 3:40 PM
> "Yes, I always indent my code like that anyway, but I could never use a language that REQUIRED it!"