The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Articles Forum
ActionScript 3: The Language of Flex

9 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Dec 6, 2007 8:16 AM by jason buhay

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 9 replies on 1 page
Frank Sommers

Nickname: fsommers

ActionScript 3: The Language of Flex Posted: Apr 26, 2007 6:00 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Advertisement
In this interview, James Ward describes the key ActionScript 3 language features:

http://www.artima.com/lejava/articles/actionscript.html

What do you think of ActionScript 3 as a programming language?

adrian milliner

Nickname: goron

Re: ActionScript 3: The Language of Flex Posted: Apr 27, 2007 12:07 AM
I've been a Java programmer for years and my wife is a Flash/Flex developer. As a result, I often get insights into AS3 and Flex, and I have to say that I'm very impressed.

The language features, like custom namespaces (linked to XML style URNs) is very nice. The Flash 9 VM is also very impressive and very fast.

The Flex DOM and runtime are very easy to use, making Swing look like a solution to the wrong problem.

The only major downside, I see, is a lack of threading support in the VM/language.

Rod Hyde

Nickname: rodhyde

Re: ActionScript 3: The Language of Flex Posted: Apr 27, 2007 1:23 AM
My language of choice is normally Python, but out of curiosity I started evaluating ActionScript 3, along with the Flex SDK, a couple of weeks ago. I hadn't seen previous versions of ActionScript, so I had no idea what to expect, but on the whole I've been pleasantly surprised, as it's quite an expressive language.