The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Actors in Scala Forum
Writing test cases in ScalaTest - pointers requested

1 reply on 1 page. Most recent reply: Apr 6, 2019 12:49 AM by angila lee

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 1 reply on 1 page
Han Wei

Nickname: akkathinke

Writing test cases in ScalaTest - pointers requested Posted: Feb 7, 2015 8:46 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Advertisement
I am a relative newbie to testing Akka actors.
I am in the process of writing some unit tests. However I need more direction.

To accomplish my goal, I would like to unit test the following Actor whose description I have laid out below:

class ActorWithFileHandlingCapabilities extends an Actor with a FileActionable trait
Description:
I am trying to test an Actor class that is peering into a directory, and inspecting the files inside of it. This action of the actor, I call it, a "task".
The class extends an Actor with a FileActionable trait
This class field variables a follows:
1) A val "taskID"
2) An ActorRef
3) an anonmymous function that takes takes into in a parameter - a val of type FileMetaDataInfo, and returns a Future[MetaDataAssociatedWithActionsTakenOnFile] which is stored in a val that I call: postActionsTakenOnFileFunction

Note: MetaDataAssociatedWithActionsTakenOnFile is a case class and represents a few things like, when the file was last worked on, what is the file path,
a flag to indicate something was detected in the file, no of characters in the file, etc]

I have the following methods:

def postActionsTakenOnFile(<<a file>>, <<report>>) = postActionsTakenOnFileFunction

def initializeActionsTakenOnFile(filesList:List[FileMetaDataInfo ) : Option[Int] = {