The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Weblogs Forum
Clearing caches

1 reply on 1 page. Most recent reply: Nov 19, 2009 2:38 PM by Jack Diederich

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 1 reply on 1 page
Michele Simionato

Nickname: micheles

Clearing caches (View in Weblogs)
Posted: Nov 19, 2009 12:36 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Summary
A short note about a task I am doing at my day job, involving making sure that different caches are cleared consistently. For people wondering about real-life use cases of metaprogramming techniques.
Advertisement

I work as an enterprise programmer and every day I have to face problems typical of the enterprise context. Here is an example from a ticket I got assigned yesterday. As everybody does, we employ caches in various places in our code base for performance reasons. As everybody does, we have problems with them. Let me explain the specific issue in the ticket. We have literally a dozen or more of different kind of caches: in somes place we use simple dictionaries, in other places we use slightly smarter data structures and in some places we use a wrapper over memcached. The caches have been implemented by different programmers during a period of years; there are caches at the Python level and caches at the C++ level. The caches are cleared in a few spots, and in particular there is code like this:

if number_objects_allocated > MAX_OBJECTS:
     cpp_cache.reset()
     python_cache.clear()
     the_other_python_cache.reset()
     the_other_other_python_cache.flush()
     ... etc etc