The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Java Answers Forum
Stuck in the first java program

1 reply on 1 page. Most recent reply: Oct 22, 2012 12:56 PM by Kishori Sharan

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 1 reply on 1 page
Darren Ang

Nickname: darren5559

Stuck in the first java program Posted: Aug 5, 2012 2:43 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Advertisement
hi,

i am a newbie in java programming. given suggestion by most user, i download a pdf file of Bruce Eckel's "Thinking in Java 4th Edition", but i stuck in the first program, and i tried to surf net to find solution to solve it, but no luck, i believe it is a small problem, hoping any expert can help me.

first, i am using netbean ide 7.1 with jdk1.7.0_02, according to url http://www.mindviewinc.com/TIJ4/CodeInstructions.html, i install the TIJ4 source code in the directory D:\data\project\java\TIJ4-code. i also change the environment CLASSPATH=.;C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\ext\QTJava.zip;D:\data\project\java\TIJ4-code;. on the other hand, i create a new project named shortform.java, and the source code is listed as below :-

// start
package shortform;
// D:\data\project\java\TIJ4-code
import static net.mindview.util.Print.print;

public class Shortform {
public static void main(String[] args) {
print("This is a test");
}
}
// end