The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Python Answers Forum
Just getting started

6 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Jul 25, 2003 6:34 AM by Merriodoc Brandybuck

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 6 replies on 1 page
Merriodoc Brandybuck

Nickname: brandybuck

Just getting started Posted: Jul 8, 2003 10:42 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Advertisement
I'm just getting started learning Python. I've already got the O'Reilly programming python on Win32 (The company I work for is a MS shop) and that's been helpful, and I've gone through most of the online docs I can find. Can anybody recommend any books for learning the language and getting a leg up on using it? I've developed in C/C++, VB, VBScript, Javascript, C# and have used a bit of AWK and some simple Python scripts to help with my development work.

So far I've had the best luck with O'Reilly books in picking up new things. They have a plethora of Python books available and in searching the bookstores and online I've found a whole bunch more. I haven't ever liked the "Learn language X in 21 days" kind of books because I've never found one that has shown me anything useful. The examples are simplistic and they don't go into enough detail to tell you what the language can really do. Anything anybody can suggest would be most appreciated.