The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Weblogs Forum
Taking back what I said about TAPL

2 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Nov 20, 2006 10:58 AM by Christopher Diggins

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 2 replies on 1 page
Christopher Diggins

Nickname: cdiggins

Taking back what I said about TAPL (View in Weblogs)
Posted: Nov 19, 2006 1:05 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Summary
So I am currently studying the language of "serious" language researchers in order to write a paper about Cat, and the book "Types and Programming Languages" by Benjamin Pierce has turned out to be a huge boon!
Advertisement
A while back I criticized Benjamin Pierce's book Types and Programming Languages for not defining what a type was. While it may be argued that it is an oversight, I think the assumption is that the reader has a very minimum of category theory (of which I previously had none). I still feel a the book could have made a bit more effort to present the very core concepts, which I am sure I am not alone in lacking, my overall opinion of the book is very favourable! Pierce is an undeniable grand-master of type theory and I feel I must extoll its virtues of the book as penance for my earlier critique.

The key to getting the most out of the book is to spend the neccessary effort to become acquainted with the syntax and the techniques of explanation. After having spent some time with the book I now feel I have a pretty good grasp of the basics of sum types algebraic data types, as well as interesection types, existential polymorphism, universal polymorphism, and some other concepts. I had previously found it difficult to find clear and precise explanations of these concepts elsewhere online.