The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Weblogs Forum
Buy Your Own Tools

14 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Jul 16, 2003 4:07 PM by Adrian Howard

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 14 replies on 1 page
Matt Bauer

Nickname: mbauer

Buy Your Own Tools (View in Weblogs)
Posted: Jul 14, 2003 11:30 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Summary
What matters in the end is working code, not the tool that made it. I propose that developers buy their own tools and be held responsible for installing, maintaining, and dealing with them just like auto mechanics do.
Advertisement

This weekend I helped a friend wire his new house – I did many things before I was a developer. I showed up early in the morning with my tool belt and started in. Reread that last sentence. I said I showed up with my tool belt. My friend didn’t go to the store and buy me a belt. Why should he. He doesn’t know if I like a 16oz or 18oz hammer. He doesn’t know if I like reversible screwdrivers, he doesn’t know what kind of wire strippers I like. All my friend knows is that he owes me big and the inspector is coming on Tuesday.