The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Weblogs Forum
Scrum will never be the same

10 replies on 1 page. Most recent reply: Feb 11, 2012 1:52 PM by Steve Barber

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 10 replies on 1 page
James O. Coplien

Nickname: cope

Scrum will never be the same (View in Weblogs)
Posted: Oct 7, 2011 11:58 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Summary
Over a career, good programmers spend much more of their time in professional education than in their college classes. Much of this professional training is tied up with certification programs. But good education needs feedback — all the way to the defining charters of the trainers and their organizations.
Advertisement

I am a Scrum trainer. That means that I teach a project management framework, called Scrum, in public courses and in-house courses world-wide. It's part of how I make my living. I see this as a natural extension of my broader calling as educator and in many ways, training hearkens back to my university days.

On the other hand, it is also different.

As institutions, universities are places for intellectual exchange and growth — growth that comes from dialectic. If learning were not a dialogue, then most education could be achieved through books. Books are a one-way delivery mechanism. Universities, on the other hand, provide opportunities for two-way communication, and good educators learn nearly as much from the university experience as their students do. As educators learn they can change their methods, and even the content of what they are teaching. And, of course, the larger purpose of the educator isn't to pass along the current version of the facts but to challenge students to find them for themselves.