The Artima Developer Community
Sponsored Link

Weblogs Forum
Put a Flex UI On Your Application

37 replies on 3 pages. Most recent reply: Oct 31, 2009 12:15 PM by Ryan Mills

Welcome Guest
  Sign In

Go back to the topic listing  Back to Topic List Click to reply to this topic  Reply to this Topic Click to search messages in this forum  Search Forum Click for a threaded view of the topic  Threaded View   
Previous Topic   Next Topic
Flat View: This topic has 37 replies on 3 pages [ « | 1 2 3 ]
Florin Jurcovici

Posts: 66
Nickname: a0flj0
Registered: Feb, 2005

Re: UGH!!! - me too, me too! Posted: Jul 17, 2007 1:34 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Advertisement
However, it's not flex but flash I'm having a problem with.

I never liked flash. Flash is proprietary. It changes ABI from one version to the next (i.e. you need a fresh player to play new versions).

While flash certainly is a solution for playing movies on youtube or showing the portfolio of graphical artists on the web, IMO its use for building UIs for rich clients is misuse.

You can implement XML-RPC using XmlHttpRequest, which is since last year an official W3C recommendation. You can also build proper UIs using widget sets based on HTML and JS. There are even frameworks for building flash-like stuff without flash, using just JS and HTML. Most modern browsers implement enough of the W3C spex to make such frameworks run in any modern browser.

So why flash?

Kay Schluehr

Posts: 302
Nickname: schluehk
Registered: Jan, 2005

Re: UGH!!! - me too, me too! Posted: Jul 20, 2007 1:55 AM
Reply to this message Reply
> However, it's not flex but flash I'm having a problem
> with.
>
> I never liked flash. Flash is proprietary. It changes ABI
> from one version to the next (i.e. you need a fresh player
> to play new versions).

But so does Python, which is not proprietary. You simply can't run a pyc file across different versions of the runtime and ABI compliency has never been a requirement for Python. But when you need a new player/runtime anyway I ask you what is it a big deal to install an appropriate Flash plugin ( pythonXX.dll )?

Jon Cox

Posts: 1
Nickname: jcox
Registered: Aug, 2007

Re: Put a Flex UI On Your Application Posted: Aug 28, 2007 2:21 PM
Reply to this message Reply
I'd be very interested in seeing an in-depth comparison
between OpenLazlo 4 and Flex. Ideally, I'd love to be
in a room with the architects of both systems, some
hard-core users, and some folks just learning each
system for the first time. Short of that, has anybody
here tried both (Bruce?). Some points of comparison
I'd like to hear about include:

- Productivity
- Learning curve
- Performance
- Openness (Flex's SDK is open, but there's more to it)
- Misc strengths & weaknesses
- Bugginess
- Documentation
- Development Tools
- Ease of handling back button properly
- Ease of making apps with bookmarkable gui state
- Flex's DataServices vs OpenLaszlo's Webtop
- ... anything else you can think of...


Cheers,
- Jon

David Ng

Posts: 1
Nickname: tassiedave
Registered: Aug, 2007

Re: Put a Flex UI On Your Application Posted: Aug 29, 2007 7:35 AM
Reply to this message Reply
Hey! This tutorial doesnt work out of the box!

After a cut and paste the code, I get the error:

Server.Error.Request
HTTP request error

The server and python test client run OK, so it must be a Flex issue. Could it be something to do with the crossdomain policy?

I'm running OSX and the lastest versions of flex, python etc...

sa hu

Posts: 3
Nickname: saleh194
Registered: Aug, 2007

Get $ 3000 a month with Agloco Posted: Aug 29, 2007 4:31 PM
Reply to this message Reply
Get $ 3000 a month with Agloco

I recently joined AGLOCO and now I would like to refer it to you because I like the idea and I want you to share in what I think will be an exciting new Internet concept.

AGLOCO’s story is simple:

Advertisers, search providers and online retailers are paying billions to reach you while you surf, but you don’t make any money from this. AGLOCO thinks you deserve a piece of the action.

AGLOCO is building a new form of online community that they call an Economic Network. They are not only paying Members their fair share, but they’re building a community that will generate the kind of fortune that YouTube made. But instead of that wealth making only a few people rich, the entire community will get its share.

AGLOCO collects money from those companies on behalf of its members. All you need to do is install the toolbar from AGLOCO so that these advertisers can better target their advertisement to you based on your surfing habits.

What's the catch? No catch - no spyware, no pop-ups and no spam - membership and software are free and AGLOCO is 100% member owned. Privacy is a core value and AGLOCO never sells or rents member information.

If you use this link to sign up, I automatically get credit for referring you and helping to build AGLOCO.
document.write('http://www.agloco.com/r/'+memberCode+'')
http://www.agloco.com/r/BBGM4302


Thanks,

Take the code BBGM4302 and substitute it with your own member id.

li cq

Posts: 1
Nickname: licq
Registered: Aug, 2007

Re: Put a Flex UI On Your Application Posted: Dec 18, 2007 4:05 AM
Reply to this message Reply
I want to know whether it is able to make the server side to notify the FLEX client to update data?

I think it is a really important problem to be a great UI choice.

Fred Sells

Posts: 1
Nickname: fredsells
Registered: Mar, 2008

Re: Put a Flex UI On Your Application Posted: Mar 8, 2008 4:29 PM
Reply to this message Reply
That XML-RPC example was an eye opener. Thanks. More recently you did a simple video example with James Ward using Turbogears.

I would like to establish a consistent approach within my organization based on Flex UI. The XML-RPC is great in it's simplicity and method binding. Turbogears seems pretty cool too. Do you have any insight on backend choices between Turbogears, xml-rpc and perhaps django.

Ryan Mills

Posts: 1
Nickname: oniseijin
Registered: Oct, 2009

Re: Put a Flex UI On Your Application Posted: Oct 31, 2009 12:15 PM
Reply to this message Reply
I found the same issue, with no clear resolution...

Posted a bug: http://forums.adobe.com/message/2357429#2357429

Flat View: This topic has 37 replies on 3 pages [ « | 1  2  3 ]
Topic: Abstract Type Members versus Generic Type Parameters in Scala Previous Topic   Next Topic Topic: Myths About Indentation in Python


Sponsored Links



Google
  Web Artima.com   

Copyright © 1996-2014 Artima, Inc. All Rights Reserved. - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use - Advertise with Us